This morning the sun ejected a X5-class solar flare towards the Earth. Goddard Space Weather Lab experts believe the CME will reach Earth on March 8th 0625 UT (+/- 7 hrs) Experts also believe that this CME could cause strong to severe geomagnetic storms. They said sky watchers at ALL LATITUDES should be alert for auroras. From the last statement I would recommend to all viewers that it maybe a good idea to try to find a dark place to view the aurora.  Currently we are having a snow storm here in Fairbanks Alaska. The forecast is calling for cloudy or partly cloudy skies for the rest of the week. If there is a strong aurora we maybe able to see it between a break in the clouds. More news to come soon. -Troy

MikeShow - Wed 7 Aug - 23:31

It's looking good now. Thanks Troy.

Troy - Wed 7 Aug - 22:33

you're welcome. Sorry it took so long. They changed something with the server so I had to wait for support.

Myra - Wed 7 Aug - 20:48

Thank you so much really love this cam

Myra - Wed 7 Aug - 20:47

Looks real good

Troy - Wed 7 Aug - 20:46

had to change some code. Everything should be back online.

Troy - Wed 7 Aug - 20:24

having some type of server issue. I'm currently working with support to try and figure out what is going on.

Troy - Mon 22 Apr - 16:01

They are calling for 10" of snow tonight. Small chance we might have a short power outage

Troy - Tue 9 Apr - 21:28

Very true. I saw the neighbor kid flying his kite the other day.

AKPaeony - Sat 6 Apr - 23:28

It's been so nice to be able to see the Aurora inside since it's been so windy lately.

Myra - Fri 5 Apr - 04:22

LOVE IT

Troy - Tue 2 Apr - 23:15

looks like a great aurora starting. I restarted the server really fast.

Troy - Sat 30 Mar - 22:00

nice clear night. now we need some aurora

Troy - Sun 24 Mar - 21:15

Activity is going up. Looks like it will be a good night if those clouds move out of the way.

Troy - Thu 21 Mar - 21:41

great news

misty1 - Thu 21 Mar - 03:08

Finally got video Troy

rseinfeld - Tue 12 Mar - 23:08

Ah, a sci-fi sky!

Troy - Wed 6 Mar - 23:09

just restarted the live server

Troy - Wed 6 Mar - 23:08

snowing tonight.

Troy - Sun 3 Mar - 23:09

nice aurora starting up

Troy - Thu 28 Feb - 07:04

Nice. It is always better in person.

The shoutbox is unavailable to non-members

 

Current Time

Fairbanks, AK -9GMT
Wednesday, 21 August 2019

Who's Online

We have 33 guests and one member online

  • Myra

3 day K index

ace 24 hour data

space weather overview

Noaa