Last night

We had a big power outage here in Fairbanks. All of the aurorawebcam.com webcams where taken offline. Here is the offical story from the local paper.

 The last week or so

 I have been tracking a bug from the webcam server. This webcam bug will stop the camera and not let it restart. I have contacted my hosting providor and tomorrow we are going to test a few more solutions. This bug is diffrent from the "no input found" error that will happen when you try to changes pages on the website. (which i believe maybe 99% fixed??)

 As always

 I'm looking for error reports under this topic here in the forums. Please give as much detail as you can. What internet browser are using, how often it happens, and how to reproduce the error if you know how.

 

More news to come soon. -Troy

Troy - Thu 10 Oct - 17:04

still snowy and very cloudy.

Myra - Mon 7 Oct - 05:51

Thanks Troy

Troy - Sun 6 Oct - 20:16

I think I might have some frozen ice on the camera. I will go up tomorrow and get it all cleaned off

bkcarter333 - Fri 4 Oct - 23:01

Bright enough to show through the snow on the camera!!! Go away snow :)

Troy - Wed 2 Oct - 08:46

Snow on the camera. More snow forecast for tonight. Let’s hope the power doesn’t go out.

Myra - Mon 30 Sep - 23:26

WOW pretty color

judithduft - Sat 28 Sep - 04:05

Happy to see the aurora again! Have to remember to stay tuned, as we are 4 hrs. ahead of you now...kind of difficult to watch during peak times.

Myra - Fri 27 Sep - 22:40

Go away clouds

Myra - Tue 24 Sep - 02:52

Good color

PresB01 - Sat 21 Sep - 22:41

ahhh, okay! wasnt sure cause i couldnt tell but yeah makes sense for sure! thanks!!! :)

Troy - Sat 21 Sep - 22:15

I just turned it back on. It’s working now. Sadly we are in a cloud right now. So not much to look at.

PresB01 - Sat 21 Sep - 21:35

is it working..

Troy - Sat 21 Sep - 16:29

restarting the server

Troy - Fri 20 Sep - 22:03

yes. Right now we have some light rain and water drops on the camera. Not going to see much action until the rain clears up. I will restart the camera server tomorrow just to make sure everything is going ok.

judithduft - Fri 20 Sep - 17:27

Is the webcam live? The clouds don't seem to be moving.

Myra - Tue 3 Sep - 04:23

Still some aurora 8:22 est

Troy - Mon 2 Sep - 23:55

Another fine night for the aurora. Not so sure what the weather model is doing. Showing light rain right now.

AKPaeony - Sun 1 Sep - 01:05

Well your valley is getting more action than my valley Troy. That solar wind is fast and creating some great movement & pretty colors.

PresB01 - Sat 31 Aug - 23:56

this is gunna be such a good aurora season!

AKPaeony - Sat 31 Aug - 22:51

I can see something in the upper left corner and when I look out my back door in Two Rivers there is a white band going all the way across the sky!

The shoutbox is unavailable to non-members

 

Current Time

Fairbanks, AK -9GMT
Sunday, 20 October 2019

Who's Online

We have 78 guests and one member online

  • Myra

3 day K index

ace 24 hour data

space weather overview

Noaa