Brrr it is cold here in Fairbanks. They said on the news tonight that they recorded -53F at the airport this morning here in Fairbanks! Today I decided to take some time and look at some of my archived video footage. I was able to discover the earliest recorded aurora that I have ever seen. July 11th 2011 was the date. It is common to hear of the aurora in August. Not so common to hear of it in July. At some point here in the next few weeks I plan on making a few videos from this footage for the site.

  Today was also "Operation Router Rescue" I run a very extensive network on the hill. The network includes my webcams, Mt. Aurora Fairbanks creek lodge, my mom and dads old house and Skiland. My current network has 2 routers, 6 access points, 5 large wifi antennas, one IP camera, 2 wifi networks and about 10 computers. Over the years I have gathered up a bunch of routers and access points that refuse to work properly. Today I made a last ditch effort to restore as many as I could for future failure replacements. Below is a few photos of my router operations. I'm using Linux ubuntu to try to restore the firmware via tftp. More news to come soon. -Troy

router

router2

AKPaeony - Thu 29 Sep - 00:03

Oh my gosh I see red!

Anj - Mon 26 Sep - 03:50

Thank you Myra!

Myra - Mon 26 Sep - 03:48

Hope somebody is seeing this pretty

Myra - Thu 8 Sep - 05:09

So pretty 4am est

MikeShow - Thu 1 Sep - 01:11

Still working fine with me thanks Troy.

Troy - Wed 31 Aug - 18:17

just updated a few things on the site. hopefully it will speed things up a little.

Myra - Tue 30 Aug - 03:15

WOW pretty movement

Sncxx093@yahoo.com - Mon 29 Aug - 00:41

Wow! Absolutely amazing.

AKPaeony - Mon 29 Aug - 00:10

Looking good from my valley.

Troy - Sun 28 Aug - 23:58

Nice aurora right now on the camera

Troy - Tue 16 Aug - 18:52

I’m updating some software to see if it will fix the issue. I’ll have it back on here shortly

Sncxx093@yahoo.com - Tue 16 Aug - 07:52

Is the live camera frozen? It seems to have looked the same for me for the past 2 days.

MikeShow - Sun 14 Aug - 05:28

Thanks Troy. Look forward to that.

AKPaeony - Sat 13 Aug - 21:46

Looks great so thanks. Saw a little bit of Aurora last night but had to go to bed at 1:30am.

Troy - Sat 13 Aug - 15:38

Ok. Things are back online. I’m fighting some computer updates and a minor electrical issue. I hope to get those fixed before the snow flys

Myra - Fri 12 Aug - 04:30

Troy knows having computer problems

AKPaeony - Thu 11 Aug - 21:42

Live stream not working & free stream is not current?

JFHenderson822 - Fri 29 Jul - 06:57

Hooray! Inching back into nautical twilight. Won't be more than a month now till there will be dark enough.

george2624 - Fri 22 Jul - 18:46

Hoping to see aurora soon!

Myra - Wed 25 May - 15:24

always watching thanks for doing the cam

The shoutbox is unavailable to non-members

 

Current Time

Fairbanks, AK -9GMT
Sunday, 02 October 2022

Who's Online

We have 20 guests and 2 members online

  • Myra
  • yogisworld

3 day K index

ace 24 hour data

space weather overview

Noaa