Brrr it is cold here in Fairbanks. They said on the news tonight that they recorded -53F at the airport this morning here in Fairbanks! Today I decided to take some time and look at some of my archived video footage. I was able to discover the earliest recorded aurora that I have ever seen. July 11th 2011 was the date. It is common to hear of the aurora in August. Not so common to hear of it in July. At some point here in the next few weeks I plan on making a few videos from this footage for the site.

  Today was also "Operation Router Rescue" I run a very extensive network on the hill. The network includes my webcams, Mt. Aurora Fairbanks creek lodge, my mom and dads old house and Skiland. My current network has 2 routers, 6 access points, 5 large wifi antennas, one IP camera, 2 wifi networks and about 10 computers. Over the years I have gathered up a bunch of routers and access points that refuse to work properly. Today I made a last ditch effort to restore as many as I could for future failure replacements. Below is a few photos of my router operations. I'm using Linux ubuntu to try to restore the firmware via tftp. More news to come soon. -Troy

router

router2

Myra - Mon 28 Sep - 02:59

WOW

Troy - Sun 27 Sep - 11:42

Back in town. Nephew was able to tag his first bull moose. Working on the websites backend today.

Myra - Sun 27 Sep - 05:02

Love the movement

Troy - Tue 22 Sep - 16:18

Just restarted the server. Going back into the woods to do some moose hunting until Saturday night.

bkcarter333 - Mon 21 Sep - 23:06

Love the pinks tonight!

Myra - Sun 20 Sep - 03:52

Nice color

AKPaeony - Sun 13 Sep - 02:33

Glad to see a bit of green tonight.

Myra - Sat 29 Aug - 02:07

WOW pretty color

Anj - Sat 29 Aug - 00:56

Hello. Could you have a look at the cam please, it's just gone off. Thanks in advance

AKPaeony - Wed 26 Aug - 00:15

It's been working so I'm hopping for some solar activity and clear skies!

Troy - Mon 24 Aug - 20:45

Sorry for the late reply. I restarted the server on the 20th and it stopped. I believe the next morning I restarted it again. It should be working again with a faster refresh. I’ll try to check it every night.

AKPaeony - Thu 20 Aug - 01:46

Hi Troy, I've had problems with the live feed refreshing and now it says live stream unavailable tonight.

Myra - Mon 27 Jul - 18:59

Thanks Troy

Troy - Mon 27 Jul - 18:58

Back online outage was long enough to kill battery backups.

Troy - Mon 27 Jul - 16:52

power outage yesterday. I'll have to go restart it.

AKPaeony - Sun 26 Jul - 23:33

Oh no I'm getting stream unavailable?

Troy - Wed 15 Jul - 19:46

restarted the server. Should be better refresh rate now.

Troy - Wed 15 Jul - 18:28

ill restart the server in a few

AKPaeony - Tue 14 Jul - 01:27

For some reason it's not refreshing?

Troy - Thu 23 Apr - 21:25

sun going down on the left

The shoutbox is unavailable to non-members

 

Current Time

Fairbanks, AK -9GMT
Thursday, 01 October 2020

Who's Online

We have 10 guests and 2 members online

  • Anj
  • Myra

3 day K index

ace 24 hour data

space weather overview

Noaa