This is a 3 part post please read everything so you dont miss out on juicy details later. First off we had a very nice aurora last night which started out very cloudy. My guest at the Mt. Aurora Fairbanks Creek Lodge reported that the aurora started around 12am. They were able to take some very nice photos. I had to go to bed early due to a chance that I had to work at the ski area the next morning.

Are you a aurora watcher in the Fairbanks area? Have you asked yourself any of the following questions: Where do I go to see the aurora? What happens if I need to use the bathroom while I'm out? I wish I could have a nice place to stay and watch the aurora? I could use some help with some basic aurora photography tips?

Well if you answered any of those questions with a yes, I'm hosting an aurora viewing at the Skiland lodge. The price is $25 per person. It includes warm place to stay, bathrooms, free coffee and tea. Group rates avaiable. Please contact me via e-mail for more details

Finally last night was the second test of my time lapse program. I have posted it on facebook. It should also be embedded here below this post.


Troy - Mon 22 Apr - 16:01

They are calling for 10" of snow tonight. Small chance we might have a short power outage

Troy - Tue 9 Apr - 21:28

Very true. I saw the neighbor kid flying his kite the other day.

AKPaeony - Sat 6 Apr - 23:28

It's been so nice to be able to see the Aurora inside since it's been so windy lately.

Myra - Fri 5 Apr - 04:22

LOVE IT

Troy - Tue 2 Apr - 23:15

looks like a great aurora starting. I restarted the server really fast.

Troy - Sat 30 Mar - 22:00

nice clear night. now we need some aurora

Troy - Sun 24 Mar - 21:15

Activity is going up. Looks like it will be a good night if those clouds move out of the way.

Troy - Thu 21 Mar - 21:41

great news

misty1 - Thu 21 Mar - 03:08

Finally got video Troy

rseinfeld - Tue 12 Mar - 23:08

Ah, a sci-fi sky!

Troy - Wed 6 Mar - 23:09

just restarted the live server

Troy - Wed 6 Mar - 23:08

snowing tonight.

Troy - Sun 3 Mar - 23:09

nice aurora starting up

Troy - Thu 28 Feb - 07:04

Nice. It is always better in person.

charleslxy - Thu 28 Feb - 02:02

Just came back from Old Murphy Dome. The aurora there was stunning, from colors to shapes.

Troy - Wed 27 Feb - 22:10

looks like its going to be a good night

Troy - Wed 27 Feb - 22:10

nice aurora starting to the lower right

Myra - Wed 27 Feb - 04:15

So PRETTY!!!!!

Scribe - Wed 27 Feb - 03:09

Wow!

charleslxy - Wed 27 Feb - 01:36

Getting stronger!

The shoutbox is unavailable to non-members

 

Current Time

Fairbanks, AK -9GMT
Wednesday, 24 April 2019

Who's Online

We have 61 guests and one member online

  • Myra

3 day K index

ace 24 hour data

space weather overview

Noaa